BTW, I'm Also an Electrician

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• BTW, I'm Also an Electrician

Kitchen light fixture. It's a 48-inch four bulb florescent. It's a turd, as old as the house. Eats bulbs and goes out as fast as you can feed it bulbs. Unit got us a new fixture, something artsy, new technology.

Hire somebody to put it in. He couldn't come yesterday, so it'll be another week before he can do it. I'm on sick meds. I'm thinking, I've installed a whole lot of ceiling fans, that's basic and easy. Why can't I do this fixture? It's the same thing. What I forgot is I can't hardly do any work over my head anymore, can't hold any weight for any amount of time.

I got the bulbs out of it, cussing at the bulbs, I HATE those bulbs. Unscrewed all four of the screws that held the fixture to the ceiling. I was sweating bricks unscrewing the last one....nothing happened. The thing was still attached. I shook it....there's no telling what's holding this thing to the ceiling.

Unit's sitting over at the kitchen table watching. She says, "There's probably some more screws holding it under the ballast cover." Okay, so I go out to the Official Tool Box and get the Approved Channel Locks and get back up on the ladder and squeezed the ballast cover and removed it. Nothing there. No more screws.

Right about then, me on the ladder, holding the Approved Channel Locks and the 48-inch ballast cover, that whole fixture fell to the floor. WHAM! Some part of it hit me on the forehead on its way down, I'll have a lump for sure. But it's un-installed by golly. There it is, out by the street like we meant to do it.
    Last edited by pdub; September 4, 2015, 07:13 AM.
    Charter member of the Turd Nuggets

Paint. It was stuck on years worth of paint.
    My hobby is needing a hobby.

Comment

Hell yeah, that's how I stick light fixtures up there... Smack 'em on the end with a 2x4 when you want them back down. Leave the wires on so it doesn't hit the floor.