The Road Course Tire Dilemma

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Road Course Tire Dilemma

I've got six of the Continental extreme Contact D/W tires that Fast Ed recommended for use on the Mustang at road courses. Ed has never been more right, those are superb tires in my application. Wet or dry, maybe even more wet than dry. Thank you a hundred more times Ed, I would have not known what to get!

Here's the deal. We're going to Road Atlanta sorta soon to run Red (middle of March). And then AMP in early April. AMP eats tires, but not the ones on Red. Wear rating 340.

We've got 6 tires, two in the basement, 4 on the car.

The two in the basement - one of them, I drove it flat about four miles at Road Atlanta at speed around curves hard. (I'm a rookie dumbass). It went down, a micro-puncture that the guys at the tire store "PATCHED." it was a small hole. Tiny. A pin hole. I'm afraid to run that tire again because I ran it real fast for so long. The sidewalls are real scuffed and I can't imagine what I may have done to that tire's structure, being a dumbass..

The other tire in the basement, I noticed a pretty big piece of metal in it, from driving it on the street, that tire had to be "PLUGGED." I replaced it, too. Folks said never race a tire that's been plugged.

Now, one of the tires on the car, the newest one, and they cost a bit, has a slow leak. About 10 psi per week, it's leaking. Should I just keep putting air in it and race it? I want to. Like a leaky faucet, it'll cost more to fix it that it'll cost to live with it.

Charter member of the Turd Nuggets

Those are expensive tires I might try them next on my Camaro, the Pro Comp 2's I bought last time have done ok they definitely ( IMHO ) were better than the Pirelli's especially on wet roads and will probably end up with about 35K on them which the Pirelli's did also. Decisions Decisions!
    Hey did you check your valve stem !
    Last edited by corvettedad; February 19, 2016, 04:17 PM.