I Finally Got In, Finally...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I Finally Got In, Finally...

The company I work for is extremely hard to get hired into. I've been a contractor there since last September, and some guys there have been contractors there for several years. You have to know your shit, and/or prove your worthiness to be considered for permanent employment. So on Friday June 30th I got called into the office by my boss and the HR guy. The HR guy has a manilla envelope in his hand with my name on it. They sit me down, semi serious looks on their faces... The HR guy says; "Eric, we're offering you a full time permanent position with fully paid medical benefits, 401k, 2 weeks of vacation, 6 sick days, paid holidays, and a $1hr pay increase effetive July 1st.. Here's the paperwork, please review it and sign at the bottom of page 2..." I asked the HR guy and my boss, is this for real, seriously? They're like.. well yeah, you do a great job for us here, it's been noted, and we'd like to retain you. I almost fell out of the chair I was sitting in. If I wasn't so fat I would've done a cartwheel right there. I got up, shook the HR guy's hand, gave my boss a big man hug, and profusely thanked both of them. My boss told me I earned it. They like the work I do in the shop, and they were happy with the field work I've done. I've busted ass since last September and it finally paid off. All I can say is holy shit I have a career now!!!

congrats, nice to see someone recognized and rewarded for their hard work

Comment

congratulations - so whatcha going to buy?
      Doing it all wrong since 1966

Comment

The American way! Good job! Congrats.
        Ed, Mary, & 'Earl'
        HRPT LongHaulers, 08, 09, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19.

Inside every old person is a young person wondering, "what the hell happened?"

The man at the top of the mountain didn't fall there. -Vince Lombardi

Comment