The Definition of "Natural"

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Definition of "Natural"

I'm not a natural race car driver. I thought I was when I was 7 years old. It took all of these years and then some more years of trying to find that out. I was a wreck waiting to happen on a road course, because I was just an obstacle on the track for the guys who were running really fast. I had to pay for all of that myself, Daddy wasn't interested in my aspirations when I was knee-high. Turns out, by mistake or on purpose he was right.

I'm not a natural music player. I can't even sing on key. I want to play too fast, faster and faster during the song. I use the term "player" carefully, I'm not a musician. Musicians can keep time, but they cannot TELL time, like what time is band practice. They're all over the map.

But I found out.....One day at work, the Safety Manager handed me a script for a computer-based compliance module. He said," Read this." I said, WHAT? He said you're gonna narrate this one, read it, here's the microphone. So I did. This is boring stuff, worse than a visit to the dentist office.

So I did, and the feedback was amazing. The Safety Manager said he loved my Southern drawl. I actually had folks come to say they really enjoyed my narrative, I had no idea. That was my calling.

When Ron Ward got into the podcast thing, the first one he posted here, I listened to it. That's one of the greatest stories ever. About buying his kid the tools and then the kid used them, that's classic. I listened to that and then I called Ron. I needed to call Ron anyhow, to get our plans together for Arkansas. I said, Ron, that's the greatest story ever. But in the first two sentences, I could tell you were reading that off of a piece of paper. I could hear that, use the stuff on the piece of paper and then just tell the story, like you would sitting around drinking beer. It's all about inflection.