Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Are good car movies dead? Does anyone care anymore?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are good car movies dead? Does anyone care anymore?

This topic is a spin-off from the "hollywood wrecking cars" and "best car movie" thread. Car movies are easily one of the biggest influences I had as a kid leading me towards a gearhead life. It seems to me that less and less kids nowadays truly care about cars. Even from the time I graduated (2000) to today it looks as though the high school parking lots have turned into new car dealerships. It seems most kids(and their parents) are choosing warranties over shop class.

What does this have to do with car movies? When was the last time you went to the theaters excited to see a car movie, and left satisfied? Most of those movies are geared at high school kids. If high school kids don't care, nobody makes the movies. I feel that good car movies are fading away. Has this generation been lost to game consoles? I can see it now, "Hot Rod Hero" for xbox- with little plastic wireless wrenches. It's hard to say I blame them, when most young beginners are into (and can only afford) "fashion" imports. A 1990 Honda Civic might as well be a Formula 1 car for a young aspiring mechanic. EFI is superior to carbs in many ways, but it sure is a lot harder to explain than the Bernoulli principle. Especially to someone who just grasped the idea of a four stroke.

Im a big movie buff and I would hate to think that good car based movies are gone.

Thats my rant folks. I would love to hear some thought on this.

Has Hollowood lost interest in Hot Rodding?
    Do kids today care?
    Is there anything we can do about it?
    ...I know one youth group leader who seeks change.