More Granddad goodness

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• More Granddad goodness

Brian's "I love talking to my grand dad" post was kind of prophetic. This past week I scored some treasured pics of to my two grandfathers that I'd like to share.

First up is Grandpa Cole. I mentioned in some previous posts that I am a 4th generation engineer. Dad and I are both Mechanical Engineers in the oil biz. We've both worked on some massive projects that have received TV coverage, but nothing really special. Grandpa Cole was in the Aerospace business during breakneck pace of the '50s and '60s. The aircraft and projects that he was involved with seem almost legendary. Certainly a lot more interesting than pumping oil from Tank A to Vessel B.

Anyway, here is my grandfather, Willis Cole, Jr., sitting the cockpit of what is probably the most interesting project he worked on. The McDonnell XV-1.

Now, what is the XV-1 you might ask? It was one of the first convertiplane technology demonstrators and the world's first rotorcraft to exceed 200 mph in level flight. It was unique in that it utilized tip jets for VTOL and a prop for horizontal flight. Here are some pics I pulled off the internet.

Horizontal Flight

Vertical Take Off (or landing?)

Two XV-1's were built and both of them remain. This one is in the National Air and Space Museum's Garber storage facility.

The other XV-1 is at the Army Aviation Museum in Ft. Rucker, AL. I'd like to repeat the cockpit picture before Grandpa passes (he's 87 now), but unfortunately, neither NASM nor Ft. Rucker are allowing public access to their XV-1's.

I'll talk about Grandpa Weikart tomorrow.

Re: More Granddad goodness

Man alive that is neat!

There's some serious pride in his face to be sitting in a craft he helped create.

Thanks for posting those!

Brian
    That which you manifest is before you.

Comment

bad ass - nothing motivated like the cold war

Comment

Very nice . I wish everyday mine was still here.