Thinking of getting a CDL-A with pass endorcement

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Thinking of getting a CDL-A with pass endorcement

Sort of toying with the idea. As I have mentioned in the past we want to move from NJ to a semi-rural part of PA. In the past I thought this may be a good idea since just about any trades type of work would probably have some sort of truck requiring a CDL. Since the part of PA where we have a house, is Wyoming county. This part of PA is heavily into a boom time with the discovery of one of the nation's largest natural gas deposits. Gas wells are being drilled every where with several hundred more planned to be drilled. I have thought about, perhaps a career change. Presently I'm an electrician. While I could look in this field, which I am. But typically the work is more for a younger guy. The work is 12 hours on for 14 days on, then 14 days off, I'm 54.

I'm not being romantic about the life of truck driving but there are tons of jobs in this field. They just can't get enough drivers. For each well drilled, it requires approximately 6,700 tanker loads of fresh water! That's tankers like the big gasoline tankers, not straight jobs. This is just one small part of the total infra structure of well drilling. I'm looking at it as a job, keeping my options open.