My remodeling fun

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My remodeling fun

Since I don't have an automotive project right now (aside from trying to keep the rustbucket on the road), I figured I'd put up some pics of the project I've been working on for the past 2 years. My mom bought a foreclosure house that had been vacant for years. It had been remodeled a couple of times, and by the looks of things there wasn't a lot of sober thought put into the work done. Still, it had a solid foundation, good roof, solid frame, large garage, an acre of land, and it was dirt cheap. After evicting the mice and various other critters squatting in the house my brother and I got to work, with occasional help from my Dad (he and Mom are divorced and he lives 3 hours away). We ended up gutting the entire house down to the outside wall frames, including the old furnace, all the wiring, and most of the plumbing. The only drywall left standing - including cielings - was in the living room and stairwell. Those will be done when we get more money. The only work not done by us was the installation of the new furnace and hooking up the new wiring -we ran the wires and had an electrician hook it up.
    Kitchen first:

We reused the cabinets temporarily to save money.

Originally you had to go through the only upstairs bathroom to get into the master bedroom. Who the hell thought this was a good idea? We ended up moving the door to the master bedroom to the living room, moving the kitchen wall in, adding kitchen closets and a recess for the fridge, and putting 2 bathrooms in.

The new closet space covered the area the old back door was, so we put in a sliding door a little further down.

The bathroom floor needed to be replaced and some of the floor joists stiffened and leveled.

The master bedroom closet was shifted to the left and an entrance to the master bath was added.

The front closet was taken entirely out and the entrance to the main upstairs bathroom put in.