Weather Radio?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weather Radio?

Viewing those photos of Joplin...oh my gosh. My heart and soul pours out to the folks affected by ALL of the storms that are ravaging a great part of our homeland this season, and it's early yet. Most homes in our local area don't have basements. And I'm not real sure if a basement is a decent haven if a mile-wide EF-4 runs over your property. If that by slim chance happens, you're pretty close to toast. A miracle alone will keep you living if you're in the way. It's scary as hell, the prospect of it.

A thing I read today said this general weather pattern will continue for the next few weeks or months, into summer. So more worries for most of us, and more misery for the folks already hit.

After the F-4 splintered the south side or our city a couple or few weeks ago, I felt compelled to go and buy a weather radio. We have one, and I studied the book today and went onlie and got the codes and programmed it for our county.

All of the weather talkers locally say the weather radio can give you enough warning to save your life. Talking it up BIG. And I don't doubt it IF....

We have the computer and the TV. I'm a weather wimp so I'm glued to them both when things are lookig bad. And the weather radio works to give some warning if you don't already know what's going on. Naturally the power will go off during a disaster so the battery backup will continue to give you info, like, "You just got run over and destroyed."

And the weather radio works. It just now went off, a severe thunderstorm warning for our county.

So.....in our case.....okay. So.... we're now aware we have nowhere sturdy or underground to go and hide.

Just some thoughts. This has got to be stressing everybody in in the affected areas of our nation, ....