Then Versus Now

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Then Versus Now

My first car, 1971 Charger R/T, bought in 1979 when I was a sophomore in high school. Built the 440 with max-ported heads, big valves, Isky Megacam, headers, TRW 'Sixpack' pistons, alternated between a Sixpack when it worked to a Holley 750 on a Torker. Besides building the engine, I painted it myself, built the trans with a transpac and a B&M holeshot. Used to run 2.76 gears for highway flying, or 4.10s for the drags. This photo was in 1986, deep down in Baja California, Mexico.

This is the same car basically as it sits today. No drivetrain, partially stripped out interior... I'm gonna fix her up one day.

Actually, that Dupont Centari in the original Y9 covered with Centari 780 clear that I shot back in the mid 80's looks like it might just buff out.
    -dulcich

wow, is that an air grabber hood . you owe it to it to give it some LOVE!
    Reading , Pa
    Good Guys rodders rep.
    "putting the seat down is women's work" Archie Bunker.
    Ban low performance drivers not high performance cars .

Comment

where did you work then ?

Comment

Good luck luck buffing out the vinyl top.

Seriously, at least you kept your first car, I wish I had.

Can't find it now and I'm bummed.

Will we see it back to life soon?
        Drag Week 2006 & 2012 - Winner Street Race Big Block Naturally Aspirated - R/U 2007 Broke DW '05 and Drag Weekend '15 Coincidence?

Comment

Originally posted by ls7gto View Post
          wow, is that an air grabber hood . you owe it to it to give it some LOVE!
          I know. I'm going to make a real effort to get it back together this year. I used to cruise that thing all over the country back in the day. I added a bunch of parts from the old 77-78 Monocco CHP cars to it back then, rear swaybar, engine, tranny and PS coolers, Steering box, 12-inch discs. It made it great for high speed cruising when the 2.76 sure grip pig was in it.