Value of Manual Labor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Value of Manual Labor

Well, today was a bust at work and I felt like I accomplished nothing, so when I got home I really felt like doing a simple but tedious job. I decided to dig out a stump in the backyard. I busted my ass for two hours solid and enjoyed every minute of the backbreaking work. I smashed my hand on the stump, and I didn't even get upset. I get a lot of satisfaction from doing dirty, sweaty, and laborious tasks.

Now for the questions.

Am I the only person who finds pleasure in work of this sort?
    Do you ever get the sudden urge to take on hard manual labor?
    Do you like getting good and dirty? (please keep the answer to this one clean ;D)

Just Curious.

Seth
    200 mph or bust.......

Re: Value of Manual Labor

Nah, I sometimes get the urge to play in the dirt at home. Granted I play in the dirt at work (I'm a geologist) it's like all the auto tech's here coming home and working on their cars ;) I shovelled quite a bit of dirt one afternoon, kind of like a test to how soft the dirt in my backyard was and how deep I could go. Oh yeah, last time we had a few feet of snow on the ground I shovelled half my yard just to build a 'snow' wall along the front of my yard. If that isn't a waste of time and a lot of manual labor I don't know what is ;D
    Escaped on a technicality.

Comment

When the day/week/month just freakin' bites, and there isn't an idiot or five to take it out on...I chop wood. Me, a double-bladed axe, and some really heavy rock music going, as long as it takes before I stop and realize that the neighbors have seriously freaked out. I know some people who do land-clearing, so all I do is ask.
      Editor-at-Large at...well, here, of course!

"Remy-Z, you've outdone yourself again, I thought a Mirada was the icing on the cake of rodding, but this Imperial is the spread of little 99-cent candy letters spelling out "EAT ME" on top of that cake."

Comment