metallurgy and machining education

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• metallurgy and machining education

Anyone have a path to this type of education?

what did you do to be making things correctly,with the right stuff?

my altered path has me at 40 yrs old...the natural one has never been satisfied.
    I am still curious to a typical route.
    Last edited by Barry Donovan; September 2, 2012, 05:37 PM.
    Previously boxer3main
    the death rate and fairy tales cannot kill the nature left behind.

Started out in a machine shop years ago and learned as much as I could from the old guys.
    The basics count. Period.
    Doesn't matter what new stuff you learn, if you don't have old school values in the shop - it's for nothing.
    Act your age, not your shoe size. - Prince

Comment

I have a friend with a bachelor's in destructive testing (a sub-specialty of mechanical engineering). Then he got to blow stuff up and/or break stuff for a living. Lots of metallurgy in his studies. But he worked 10 years in a machine shop before going back to school. He said that the two "schools" were at least equivalent, or maybe the machine shop work counted much more.

Dan
      Last edited by DanStokes; September 2, 2012, 09:30 PM.

Comment

I seem to find that as well..
        most machinists come from machinists.

I hound you tube for guys in their shops going over details of what they are doing. Drives me a little more..
        where to go officially.

mechanical engineering, then metallurgy
        Previously boxer3main

Comment

When I was training to be a machinist, one of the several classes required was metallurgy..
          Pretty much have to know what you are machining and how it reacts to various machining practices...

Comment

Originally posted by Deaf Bob View Post
            When I was training to be a machinist, one of the several classes required was metallurgy..