Plumbing Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Plumbing Question

I used to be a plumber apprentice a long time ago, so I'm not a complete idiot on the topic, but I have a question. Is there any trick way to unglue PVC pipe joints? I have to move a closet flange as the bozo who roughed it or the bozo who framed the wall missed the mark. It's 8" to the RO. Somehow, the builder found a 8" toilet (Mansfield) but it doesn't flush with much authority. So I need to install an offset closet flange so I can use a standard 10" toilet, which gives much better options for one that will work better. Anyhow, it's been glued up for some time (the house was built in '99) and I haven't had much luck getting the joint to come apart.

Lacking some way to do that, maybe I can reach inside the pipe (3") with a cutoff wheel on the die grinder and chop it below the flange, but this will necessitate a much bigger hole in the concrete. Hoping one of you have a magic trick that will make this easier.

Thanks
    Dan

Re: Plumbing Question

they make inside glue and outside glue .if it is out side you could cut it off close to the top then use offset inside glue. if you can get to the glue joint use acetone to try and soften it up, also use controlled (read propane torch \heat gun not rose bud)heat before trying solvent that might work i have seen pvc air compressure lines blow apart at glue joints when to close to compressure from heat

<<<<<<<use this if all else fails LOL

Comment

try this

Comment