Hot rod a CJ5 or hold out for a CJ7?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hot rod a CJ5 or hold out for a CJ7?

Some of you know I've been itching to drop a 425/TH400 Cadillac combo (that I have just sitting around) into a Jeep of some description. (with an Explorer 8.8 rear and a 2WD Cherokee front axle)

I've been keeping my eyes open for a contender for a few years now........and found a real possibility a few days ago. No drivetrain, good title, good frame, fiberglass body, cheap & plenty to work with. Perfect.

Or is it? Its a CJ5.

I've spent 100,000+ miles in a '86 CJ7, put it through some somewhat hairy maneuvers and understand its limitations to holding the road.

But I have very little seat time in a CJ5. As in maybe a couple of miles, and that's being generous.

Would you setup a fiberglass CJ5 in a 2WD configuration with a torquey engine? Or wait for something a bit longer?

CJ5
    22.22%
    CJ7
    22.22%
    Something weirder - like Commando
    55.56%
    Last edited by STINEY; July 24, 2013, 11:49 AM.
    Of all the paths you take in life - make sure a few of them are dirt.

I've always had an urge to put big power into a late 70's Cherokee (the 2 door ones that look like the old wagoneers). If I were actually going to do it though, it would probably end up with the full pro-street treatment with a major drop to it. CJ5's are really short and squirrely.

Comment

The CJ5 is fine. Just suicide the front axle install like a t-bucket.... Should have good freak visuals.

Comment

Fox mustang. 1200 = vroom. Wheelie. Screaming children. Time is limited, get yours now!
        Last edited by Beagle; July 24, 2013, 12:05 PM.
        Flying south, with a flock of bird dogs.

Comment

I like the Commando idea myself.

Comment

don't go commando.... ever