Parts guys

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Parts guys

Yeah, I'm a parts guy. I don't always admit to it though, I don't like being lumped together with the mindless drones that populate the various chain stores across the country. I've been doing this for quite a while, 10 years just at Ford. I also was a tech at one time and started my work experience at a bodyshop. I like to think I'm top of my game, and I must be, as I make more than my boss does. (the big boss must think I'm worth having around)

Anyways, we've all heard the stories in our favorite magazines about how stupid the kid behind the counter is. Well, let me tell you how my day is going standing on the other side of that counter.

Today I had a hat trick. What these people were thinking, I can only guess. This is a Ford, Lincoln, Mercury dealership, and it says so a few times on the building. Keep that in mind when I tell you these people walked in here and asked me these questions.

1. Do you have battery cables for a Honda 4 wheeler? Well doesn't Ford own part of Honda?

2. I need a price on a gas tank for a '96 Toyota Tacoma.

3. I want a bra for my 08 F150 that goes over the bug deflector. The bug deflector is getting trashed from hitting bugs.

The best was a woman who CALLED for a taillight for a 96 Contour. I told her the price and she said I was charging her too much, and I was trying to rip her off because she was black! Uh, ma'am I can't see you to tell what color you are.

I know there is other parts guys here, feel free to chime in and tell your stories. Dealing with the public is so fun sometimes : If you have a good one to tell about a parts guy, let's have it.

Re: Parts guys