Flatbed towing question: need advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flatbed towing question: need advice

I have finally taken possession of my new house and new (to me) garage. I will go and get my Chevelle out of the storage unit (180 miles away) on Thursday. I will rent a Uhaul flatbed car hauler and tow it with my father-in-law's 97 F250. The car would probably make the drive but I have to get the spare engine, trans, cherry picker, and six extra wheels/tires so I figured this way I can get it in one trip and not worry about the Chevelle making the trip.

Here's my question: how do I tie down the Chevelle? I have no clue what facilities the Uhaul trailer will have so I assume I need to buy/rent some tie downs. What to use? Chains? Ratchet straps? Where to attach on the car?

I have never done this before, any other suggestions/hints are welcome.

Thanks.
    1967 Chevelle 300 2 Door Post. No factory options. 250 ci inline six with lump-ported head, big valves, Offy intake and 500cfm Edelbrock carb.

Re: Flatbed towing question: need advice

from the frame of the car to the trailer at 4 point 2 in the front and 2 in the rear at angles from the car if at all possible if there is a winch pull the car up, hook the back up first then winch it down slightly to pt tention on the rear chains, then hook the fronts up....there should be tie downs with the trailer, if not get chains, or heavy duty cargo straps, dont skimp on the tie downs

Comment

My local Harbor Freight sells 3" ratchet tie down straps rated at 10k lbs each for $19.99 (i think). The hooks on the ends of theses straps fit into the frame holes on my '68. I use 4 to secure them to my trailer. I also use them to tie down pretty much anything i haul.
      Whiskey for my men ... and beer for their horses!

Comment

You need four heavy nylon ratchet straps.

Make an X with the straps, two front, two rear, pulling against eachother.