Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Stineys sandrail - humble beginnings and constant improvements. July 1988 to present

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stineys sandrail - humble beginnings and constant improvements. July 1988 to present

I thought I'd share some pictures my wife recently unearthed from the old photo pile (she's making albums that have some kind of order to them )

Has probably been mentioned before, this was my Industrial Arts welding project during my Junior year in high school. Had absolutely no clue what I was doing, just wanted to build a sandrail, so I ordered a kit and dove in headfirst. I had been welding with my Gpa for a few years on little stuff, so I figured this would be a cool project and an easy A. I got the A, and this is what I brought home. Bringing it home was a little interesting. See the Wagoneer in the background? We dropped the tailgate, and a buddy sat in the back on a spare tire, and we popped the front end up in there and he held on to it while I drove the 3 miles home. He started yelling something at some point, I just told him to keep hanging on we were almost there!

The bottom pictures are of the unfortunate donor car. It was in very good shape, hardly any rust, but back then SuperBeetles were even less desireable than they are today.

This was in July of 1988. Wow, that seems like just yesterday and a long time ago, both at once.....

By the next summer I had acquired enough parts to actually have a roller, and eventually even a driver. Well, at least up and down my driveway, 1/4 mile at a time. Here the maiden voyage required handheld ignition connections and footbrakes - keen eyes will note the lack of a mastercylinder. And "starter" chain, for the lack of a starter.

Outta gas.....back to the shed!