"Rocket Roadster" Budget Intergallactic Spacecraft

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "Rocket Roadster" Budget Intergallactic Spacecraft

I'm pretty new at this message board stuff but here's Mine... on the road since April 15th 2007 and driven approximately 5,700+ miles including a couple quarter mile blasts...!

My challenge was to build a "REAL Roadster" under $5,500

Found the Roadster in Brainard MN and had the whole car shipped to my door for $2,200! Then I took the body off and replaced it with a 27 T roadster body I got for $300 and sold the T off as a roller for $2,200!

Found a Rebuilt 1970 Olds 455 and a rebuilt Olds 98 T400 trany for $400. Later bought a Dual Quad with twin 600 cfm Edelbrochs for $102, Mallory dual point for $27.

The headers are my own creation with 2" Stainless Steel pipe and 1/2 inch Stainless Steel Laser cut flanges and skillfully TIG welded by my friend Donny.

Next I found a Winters Quickchange with only 2 hours Total Time on it before the guy smacked a wall...! He threw in 7 gearsets, 2 sets of gun drilled axles, Watts linkage, a bent aluminum driveshaft , and 4 "Vintage" JFZ 4 piston callipers for $750.

Along the way a Streetrodder was replacing his "Superbell" front end with an independent... so I got the whole front end with hairpins, Posie Superslider reversed eye spring, 1940 spindles and brakes for $350 and he threw in 4 new wheels and tires for another $300 (not the ones shown!).

Had a guy named Bob Bleed build the frame, and channeled the body for a few bucks and a bunch of hotrod parts... ??$2,000???

For the interior I bought a pair of High quality leather office chairs on ebay for $18 each and a buddy got them to me cross country for a couple of beers!

All-in-all... I got it on the road for less than $4,800 and drove the first set of tires down to nothing in the first summer.

The photo that is posted is right after I bought the American T-II's and new rubber.