Wanted: Free Chevy harmonic balancers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Wanted: Free Chevy harmonic balancers

For some testing work on the OHC Pontiac engine I want to see if any aftermarket SBC balancer might work for it, but first should see if a stock balancer would work.

Anyone have a stock Small Block Chevy harmonic balancer collecting dust and willing to give away? I'll cover shipping in a flat rate USPS box. Pulleys with it would be a bonus.

I'd be interested in ones with a serpentine belt setup as well as V belt. I'd be interested in a 4.3L V6 one as well if they have the same crank snout diameter as the SBC.
    Escaped on a technicality.

I should have something laying around.does it matter if it's for a 400?
    Coming at you live from the birthplace of GM,Flint,Mi. Where your car is worth more than the property it's parked on.

Comment

I don't think it does. I'm not a chevy expert by any means, but from looking at aftermarket balancers they seem to cover 305-400's fairly commonly, so would assume the crank snout diameter (the important part for my purposes) would be the same.

Comment

What about a diameter preference?

400bsc balancer is offset weighted for external balance
        Last edited by 68scott385; September 25, 2013, 09:23 AM.
        http://www.bangshift.com/forum/showt...n-block-wanted

http://www.bangshift.com/forum/showt...-Blue-Turd(le)

Comment

And it can be pretty beat/worn. I don't think diameter is as important, but I should probably measure mine to not be any bigger than "x". My end game is to see if I can find one that I can make the alternator/water pump belt system work, then get an aftermarket equivalent.
          Last edited by TheSilverBuick; September 25, 2013, 09:20 AM.

Comment

They're kind of all over the map for sizes (Width and diameter) Randal, and a 400 wasn't internally balanced IIRC. I may have a 350 low performance unit in the garage, is there a measurement you are looking for though?