teach me learned ones...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• teach me learned ones...

I am still learning so bare with me......

I have a feeling that either my tranny is going bad or the torque converter is shot...or both.....

What are the symptoms of a bad converter and/or trans....

I know its hard to troubleshoot without actualy being there but......

Its a 383 with a 727 and a 8 3/4 rear with an unknow gear ratio......

My 1-2 shift is very hard and sometimes VERY late....my 2-3 shift is almost always late and will not shift at all if I am accelerating, when i let out of the gas it will usually go to 3rd...... When moving at about 15 MPH.... I give it a little gas to maintain speed it seems that something just isnt hooking up, but if I goose it it will lock up and go............I doubt its a shift kit cuz this has never been an issue....

Re: teach me learned ones...

Did you check the vacuum line?

Nik

Comment

Originally posted by Nik
      Did you check the vacuum line?

Nik
      LOL no vacuum line on a TF

How's the fluid level and when was the filter changed?
      Life is short. Be a do'er and not a shoulda done'er.
      1969 Galaxie 500 https://bangshift.com/forum/forum/ba...ild-it-s-alive
      1998 Mustang GT https://bangshift.com/forum/forum/ba...60-and-a-turbo
      1983 Mustang GT 545/552/302/Turbo302/552 http://www.bangshift.com/forum/forum...485-bbr-s-83gt
      1973 F-250 BBF Turbo Truck http://www.bangshift.com/forum/forum...uck-conversion
      1986 Ford Ranger EFI 545/C6 https://bangshift.com/forum/forum/ba...tooth-and-nail

Comment

Check fluid level with engine running and transmission in NEUTRAL (!)
        (Put the parkingbrake on for safety-reasons)

If the level is correct then adjust kickdown-linkage.
        www.BigBlockMopar.com

Comment

Joe, it's probably the kickdown linkage (actually the throttle valve, since the Torqueflite does not have a modulator)