GPS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GPS

Is there a GPS unit that I could program the Power Tour route into or down load it?

Originally posted by htrdharley View Post
    Is there a GPS unit that I could program the Power Tour route into or down load it?
    Yes. Garmin has a number of models that allow you to program your routes on your laptop and then download them into the GPS. Their software package is called BaseCamp. It can be a bit of a pain to get use to but I have been programming PowerTour for the last 3 or 4 years. I do a separate route for each day. My Garmin only allows 10 routes which works out pretty well for PT as I typically have one route to get to the start and one route to get home and then the 6 for the tour itself. I put in the venues, hotels, any "other" points of interest and their directions.

It actually works pretty good when driving solo or with a navigator that is map challenged.

Comment

I am looking at the Garmin Nuvi 2797 LMT. I am hoping to make next years PT a little less "map challenged".

Thanks Allen,

Comment

Lars, I bought a Garmin Nuvi 67LMT 6-Inch GPS Navigator for the 2015 tour and followed Allen's directions in using Basecamp. As Allen, said, learning basecamp is initially a challenge but in retrospect a great aid. There are a few youtube videos showing you how to use basecamp that I found very helpful.
        In fact I led the posse I was driving with this year with no one in the navigator’s chair. I also used basecamp again this fall for the Northeast Rod Ron
        nom de guerre - arrowhead from joysey

"They're no good for you. all they ever think about are cars" (GTO/Warren Oates) - Two Lane Blacktop

Comment

Thanks. I bought the nuvi 2797 and downloaded the base camp. I am working through it now, programing in shorter trips. It does take a little while too learn and enter, but so far this seems to be a great system.