Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Drag Racing newbie here - What helmet to buy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drag Racing newbie here - What helmet to buy?

Recommendations please

I need to buy a helmet to take on the 08 P/Tour for my virgin trip down Heartland Park in Topeka. In the May 08 (?) issue of PHR, Steve Rupp recommended a G-force helmet with a rating of "SFI 41.1A and Snell SA 2005” which included mounting points for a helmet restraint system from Summit @ $149.95.

I just got off the off the phone with Summit who advised me that such a helmet doesn’t exist. Either I can buy (1) the G-Force “Force 1” helmet with a rating of SFI 41.1A and Snell M2005 at $149.95 or (2) the G-Force “Pro Force 1” helmet with a rating of SFI 31.1A and Snell SA2005 at $249.95. Summit advised that choice (2) is a better helmet but it could be overkill given my needs.

My objective is not to be cheap; meet the standards that HRM & Heartland Park will require; but not buy a gold plated funny car rated helmet.

Please provide your recommendations on choice (1); (2) or what you think is behind door # (3)

Thanks
    a.k.a. - arrowhead from joysey

"They're no good for you. all they ever think about are cars" (GTO/Warren Oates) - Two Lane Blacktop

Re: Drag Racing newbie here - What helmet to buy?

Back in the day - the saying used to be

If you have a $10 head - wear a $10 helmet. Of course back then you could actually buy a polycarbonate helmet for $10 - $20.

It is a hard one to answer.
    Are you going to get the bug and start going to your local Test and Tunes?
    How fast is your car?
    How new is your car?
    How well maintained is your car?