Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rumor: Ford to End Mercury Brand

Re: Rumor: Ford to End Mercury Brand

As a point of useless trivia, my wife and I once had an '89 Mercury Sable that I thought was identical to the Taurus. It wasn't until I read a book on the development of the Taurus that I realized the trunk on the Sable model was longer than the Taurus. Apparently the design authourity made that move to distinguish the Mercury product.

You couldn't tell unless you parked a Sable and Taurus side by side.

Comment

Seems like the correct decision. Rest in peace Merc. The originators of the flip top funny car.
      Here's a Merc I first saw at Oswego Dragway in 1973. It's still around.

Comment

It was bound to happen sooner or later.
        I was a tech at a Lincoln Mercury dealer for about 10 years and the owner told us back in 2006 that this was coming. Its funny, now that I dont work at a dealership anymore I am kinda switching brands of choice. The wife currently drives a Trailbazer SS and I really want to get a Pontiac G8.
        If I was forced to pick my favorate car that I have owned it would be our 95 Mercury Grand Marquis with a twin turbo V10 in it. That car did it all, for us.

Comment

Awesome Merc - looks great with the wheels up.

It's sad, but I'm not surprised - Mercury hasn't done much the last couple years.
          Act your age, not your shoe size. - Prince

Comment

hopefully they start selling crown vics again after the grand marquis goes away.....

(crown vics have been fleet only the last few years)
            My fabulous web page

"If it don't go, chrome it!" --Stroker McGurk

Comment

The saddest part of this news is the folks that will be out of work because of it. Dealerships closing, manufacturing jobs gone, etc.

Comment

The saddest part of this news is the folks that will be out of work because of it. Dealerships closing, manufacturing jobs gone, etc.
                'Tis true, brother Joe.