• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What is the best nutsert tool?

Or Rivnut, or Rivet nut, or Threaded insert tool

quality is important
    Doing it all wrong since 1966

I've used the sliding-taper tools, they are a limited use tool. Good for about one car. I'm not a fan and will use something else from here on.
    I'm still learning

Comment

Mine looks simular to this, got it at Copper State Nut and Bolt, works like a charm.

The Green Machine.
      http://s1.postimg.org/40t9i583j/mytruck.jpg

Comment

The one posted by BigAl looks fine for small inserts. If you have a lot of inserts to do, I would seriously look at a hydraulic tool. The one we use at work does a great job, especially on the larger size inserts. I don't know if it is the "best" one out there, but it is a quality tool. I would have to look what brand it is, but I think it came from the fastenal company
        FKA Redragtop
        (formerly known as)

Comment

good point - what size inserts?
          Flying south, with a flock of bird dogs.

Comment

Originally posted by Rocketman View Post
            The one posted by BigAl looks fine for small inserts. If you have a lot of inserts to do, I would seriously look at a hydraulic tool. The one we use at work does a great job, especially on the larger size inserts. I don't know if it is the "best" one out there, but it is a quality tool. I would have to look what brand it is, but I think it came from the fastenal company
            Marson

Originally posted by Beagle View Post
            good point - what size inserts?
            no larger than 5/16 - any larger than that, and I'll weld it in.

the company that makes nutsert has 3 types of nutserts - thin sheet metal, ribbed, and thick metal... the only uses I have for nutserts is the thin sheet metal ones

Comment

These things are bad ass. We use one for installing clinch nuts in steel cabinets we build and sell. They can whip out a crapload of work in a very short time.