Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Let's assume...bench racing a claimer motor.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Let's assume...bench racing a claimer motor.

Let's assume that you were in a claimer class at the local racetrack. Anyone could buy your engine (less carb/fi and headers) for $4,000 and there is a guy at the track that has claimed engines before. Big block, small block doesn't matter. Domestic V8.

In order to win you need the most average horsepower and torque per cube and you redline at 6,500.

I don't think there is anything out there that would be better than an LSx. What's your opinion and why? Remember that cost is an issue.

Discuss
    I'm still learning

gen 1 sbc
    why there is enough used parts out there that it can be done cheap.. you don't need 2k heads to make 450ft lb of torque and 460hp

Comment

What type of racing? I would think the chasis should have something to do with it.
      Coming at you live from the birthplace of GM,Flint,Mi. Where your car is worth more than the property it's parked on.

Comment

I think an old school big block could be built at the cheapest cost to do this. If the goal is to make sure you stay under (or damned near) the $4,000 bucks and cubic inches are not an issue, why not a bored and stroked rat?
        That which you manifest is before you.

Comment

Originally posted by Brian Lohnes View Post
          I think an old school big block could be built at the cheapest cost to do this. If the goal is to make sure you stay under (or damned near) the $4,000 bucks and cubic inches are not an issue, why not a bored and stroked rat?
          Because the winner is the guy who makes the most average power and torque from 2500-6500rpm, *per cubic inch* - big blocks get their asses handed to them at this game.