Who knows about clay bar?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who knows about clay bar?

I see yellow and blue. Are they different grits that are color coded? If yes, which is the safest? Also, is a 100 gram bar adequate or small in size? I'm looking on ebay, so I can't see in person. Thanks
    STUGOTS

Different manufacturers just make their clay bars different colors, that's all.
    1999 Power Tour - 3 Stops
    2006 Power Tour Long Hauler
    2008-2012 Northeast Rod Run

Comment

A 100 gram bar should last you a long time, provided that you don't drop it. As it picks up crap off the paint, you just kned it and expose a fresh part. I use it all the time.

You can use a quick detailer as a lubricant, but I've also used soapy water in a spray bottle.
      I'm still learning

Comment

Originally posted by Bob Holmes View Post
        A 100 gram bar should last you a long time, provided that you don't drop it. As it picks up crap off the paint, you just kned it and expose a fresh part. I use it all the time.

You can use a quick detailer as a lubricant, but I've also used soapy water in a spray bottle.
        Cool. I've got bottles of that quick detailer stuff. Thanks guys
        STUGOTS

Comment

Ebay? You can't just go to the parts store and grab one Grouch? I prefer the Mother's clay bar to the others. It seems to hold up better for some reason.
          Last edited by BluLightning; December 15, 2011, 04:41 PM.
          I R Bob
          You can't drink all day unless you start in the morning!
          2007 LH, 2008 LH, 2009 LH, 2010 LH, 2011 LH, 2012 DNF/BLOW'D UP, 2013 LH, 2014 LH

Comment

there are different clays that are more or less aggresive and have different uses. ive only used what was available at the auto parts store but i have seen different clays available at shows and mail order places.
            heres a few different ones http://www.griotsgarage.com/search.do?query=clay+bar