New positon, new start.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New positon, new start.

Well, I have been running a C130 inspection dock for 3 years. It has been a good run and I have a great record but I have achieved all that I can or will in this position. Being an "older" guy by USAF standards and not as "promotable" as some of the younger guys it is dfficult to get a shot at anything else in this squadron.

A positon opened up in the Maintenace Group (A Maintenance Group encompasses all the Maintenance Squadrons on a base). I interviewed and got it. So now I will be running the program section. It is not a step up, not a step down but it is a change and I needed one in a bad way. This position will also help if I decied to make a run for E-7 unlike the position I have now.

So, instead of bailing out next August, I may just stick around for a couple more years and see what plays out. I know 2 things now. First I will be going back to school and taking some classes and Second, I need to pad my resume...I dont want to be working for the Quick-y-mart when I retire.
    If you can leave two black stripes from the exit of one corner to the braking zone of the next, you have enough horsepower. - Mark Donohue

Congrats!

How many years do you have to stay in to get lifetime healthcare at retirement?

If you don't have to buy your own health insurance after you retire and go elsewhere for work - that will make a huge difference in take home pay.
    There's always something new to learn.

Comment

Originally posted by milner351 View Post
      Congrats!

If you don't have to buy your own health insurance after you retire and go elsewhere for work - that will make a huge difference in take home pay.
      good luck joe

Comment

Good luck, Buddy! Sometimes these laterals are an excellent choice,

Dan

Comment

Originally posted by milner351 View Post
          Congrats!