$1500-$2000 short term DD?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• $1500-$2000 short term DD?

Well I'm coming to the collective gearhead mind for some results.

I have a short term need to find a DD cheap. With my lingering injury it doesn't look like I'll get the Red Furd done anytime soon. TLD needs to keep Big Red down on the farm, and my son needs the Ranger to keep his job and continue to complete his schooling. So I need something cheap, that gets good gas mileage, has cold AC, and preferably a manual, oh and did I say that it needs to be cheap.

Surfing the local craigslist I see plenty of cheap Hondi (is that plural for Honda?).Or

I've also ran across some decent 2.3L Mustangs, and I have plenty of experience and parts for them. Or

I've wanted to go land speed racing and the coefficient of drag on a Ford Probe is excellent, maybe I use it for DD duties and then cut it up (backhalf and get the engine driving the correct set of wheels ) and rebuild it for F/BFCC and hit Speedweek. Or

What other suggestions might you wise ones have?

Bob
    I'm still learning

you with the 2.3
    V8 it !!!!

Comment

this price range and subject..its like 30 years the same.

I still look, even when I am not looking.

recently found a couple of jeeps. one cherokee two door, the other a yj.
      5 speeds.

both carbed, ready to play with the last of high twenties on the bigger engine. Big enough if you want gas mileages, put even bigger tires on.

I am martyred against engines sideways and any inline four...me looking for a beater DD would literally land me in a tin can 1980s subaru.

mid 30s mpg for real. They REALLY exist. Not even a theory to apply to it. Just drive tha damn thing. Amazing.
      Previously boxer3main
      the death rate and fairy tales cannot kill the nature left behind.

Comment

Originally posted by SpiderGearsMan View Post
        you with the 2.3
        V8 it !!!!