I got a new job

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I got a new job

As some of you know I've been racing full time for the last 7 years or so. It has it's highs and lows but over all it's been fun. One of the issues....for lack of a better way to say it.... has been the hussle, to make a decient income for us, I've found myself away from home for most of the year. Not a big deal for a young single guy, but juggling 3 and 4 jobs around a family plus dealing with the off season has put a strain on us. Around August I asked my wife to let me finish the year without stress and we would see what kind of changes I (we) could make over the winter to make things a little easier.

It wasn't that hard to get a job working nights after I got back from Pomona, so that took a little stress off, but I soon (like after the 3rd day) hated it. So I kept looking and if I didn't find anything I was going to take another offer to go back racing. Believe me when I say I was looking, and around this little farming community there isn't much that I qualify for with my education and experience.
    So I expanded my search and recieved an offer in North Dakota. Now, that kind of defeated my purpose as to why I started this whole search, so after a little negotiations they came back with an offer I couldn't refuse. So I accepted.

The position is for a diesel truck mechanic, 80hrs a week, 3 weeks on, one week off. The hard part was having to "sell" this to my wife, but I managed to convince her of all the attractive attributes, and gloss over the negative.
    Now, here I sit....I'm leaving next Tuesday, and I already miss racing and going someplace warm, lol.