Rick Snavely’s ’69 Camaro Takes First Career NHRA Pro Mod Win!

Rick Snavely’s ’69 Camaro Takes First Career NHRA Pro Mod Win!

Words by NHRA Communications

Photos by Mike Burghardt


Rick Snavely raced to his first career win Monday during the NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Drag Racing Series portion of the Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals, the seventh of 10 events on the Pro Mod schedule. This weekend’s Pro Mod racing at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis was presented by JEGS.

Snavely sprinted to victory by powering his Bothwell Motorsports Turbos Direct Camaro to a 5.890-second pass at 257.53 mph to better Mike Janis’ 5.945 pass at 242.50 in his Jan-Cen Racing Engines Camaro.

PM Rick Snavely winner circle) x MIKE0863 copy
“There are no words to explain it,” Snavely said. “Everybody just worked their butts off constantly. All the parts and pieces just came together. I’m still excited that I even came here. I’m sure it’ll set in but it’s unbelievable.”

Snavely, competing in only his second career NHRA Pro Mod race, sped past Bill Glidden, Steve Matusek and reigning and two-time world champion Rickie Smith in the earlier rounds. He entered eliminations as the No. 3 qualifier.

PM Troy Coughlin Jr x MIKE0009 copy
Janis, the current points leader, raced past Troy Coughlin (above), Michael Biehle II and No. 1 qualifier and 2011 Pro Mod world champion Khalid alBalooshi before meeting Snavely in the final.

Through seven events, the NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Series has featured seven different winners. Bob Rahaim won the season-opening race in Gainesville, Fla. in mid-March while Don Walsh raced to victory in the series’ second event in late April in Houston. Kenny Lang won the third Pro Mod event at Atlanta Dragway in early May and Glidden raced to his first career victory at the season’s fourth event in Englishtown, N.J. Veteran racer Smith won the series’ fifth event in Bristol, Tenn. while Janis won the most recent event in Norwalk, Ohio in early July.


PM Michael Biehle II x MIKE0235 copy
North Vernon Indiana’s Michael Biehle in his ’13 Mustang Pro Mod

Final finish order (1-16) at the 61st annual Chevrolet Performance U.S. Nationals at Lucas Oil Raceway Park at Indianapolis.  The seventh of 10 events in the NHRA Pro Mod Drag Racing Series.
1.  Rick Snavely; 2.  Mike Janis; 3.  Rickie Smith; 4.  Khalid alBalooshi; 5.  Steve Matusek; 6. Troy Coughlin Jr.; 7.  Jim Whiteley; 8.  Michael Biehle; 9.  Clint Satterfield; 10.  Danny Rowe; 11.  Bill Glidden; 12.  Sidnei Frigo; 13.  Troy Coughlin; 14.  Don Walsh; 15.  Steven Whiteley; 16. Richie Stevens.


PM Whitely vs Smith x MIKE0221 copy

North Carolina’s Rickie Smith in his 2015 Camaro in the far lane defeated Colorado’s Steven Whiteley in the first round of eliminations.

The NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod Series will make its next stop in Charlotte, N.C., for the eighth annual NHRA Carolina Nationals, Sept. 18-20.

  • Share This
  • Pinterest
  • 0